Live Chat!
SVX or Subaru Links
Old Lockers
Photo Post
How-To Documents
Message Archive
SVX Shop Search
IRC users:

Go Back   The Subaru SVX World Network > SVX Main Forums > Technical Q & A > Chris's SVX Shop
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 09-21-2007, 06:42 AM
SVX- My daily driving Corvette

Send a message via AIM to CorSVXette
Classic SVX
Parking Lights

Hi Guys. I am a SVX newbie. I just purcahsed a 1995. My question is this: are the parking lights supposed to come on when you turn on the lights from the switch on the steering column? I can only get the parking lights to come on if I use the switch on the dashboard. I have other problems but I want to tackle one at a time. Thank you.
Paul
Old 09-21-2007, 06:48 AM

Greetings. The parking light switch on the dash is only for turning on the lights when the car isn't running.

dcb
Old 09-21-2007, 07:16 AM
Freezepop's are Awesome!!!!
Subaru Silver Contributor

Send a message via AIM to Hocrest
Yes the parking lights should come on when you turn the headlight switch on the turn signal stalk. The first click is parking lights, the second is headlights and parking lights. Lights turned on with this switch will shut off when you turn the car off.

Do your parking lights stay off even when you turn on your headlights?

I would suspect the "P" switch on the dash that turns the parking lights on even when the car is off. When that switch is removed, it affects the normal use of the parking lights. I'm wondering if there is a loose wire or dirty contact??

Use a screwdriver to gently pry that switch out of the dash and check for loose wires. Spray some electrical contact cleaner into the switch and work it on/off many times.

If that doesn't solve it then there is another wiring issue somewhere Is there an aftermarket alarm system installed?
Old 09-21-2007, 07:32 AM
Super Moderator
Alcyone Gold Contributor

Significant Technical Input Registered SVX Classic SVX