How-To Documents
Message Archive
SVX Shop Search
IRC users:

Go Back   The Subaru SVX World Network > SVX Main Forums > General SVX Babble
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 09-05-2007, 11:06 PM

what kind of mileage do you get?

Just curious about what a typical SVX gets for mileage off the board.

My stock '95 LSi (well, cone filter and removed resonator) got 28 mpg on a trip to SC last week and on one tank even got 30 going about 85 mph the whole time. I love that tall gearing though, 3k rpm @ 95 mph in 4th gear!!

Also, I'm still pretty new to the SVX game, and I hear alot about tranny swapping, how I'll probably need a new tranny by the time I'm finished typing this post, may as well buy a spare tranny now, blah blah blah... Point is, I'd like to get ahold of a 4.44 tranny if I could. I've heard a fair amount about the 4.11 tranny and that seems all well and good, but as often as I drive the car, I really don't think I'd mind the worse mileage that's associated with a 4.44 since the plus side is the better acceleration, and a beefier (correct me if I'm wrong) tranny.

Like I say, I'm still clicking on every link I see trying to find out as much as I can, but sometimes the quickest way to find something is just to ask! There are a bunch of you guys out there that have been where I am now and have the answers, so I may as well ask!

p.s. which would you recommend 4.44's or 4.11's and why? and what models do each come out of again??

Sorry again for the noob questions, but I very much look forward to some answers!

-nevin

Home of the Bontrager Works 22mm rear sway bar!!
Old 09-06-2007, 12:01 AM
Subaru Technician

Send a message via AIM to Hondasucks Send a message via MSN to Hondasucks Send a message via Yahoo to Hondasucks
Registered SVX
I don't know about the gears, so I'll let someone else answer... I think the 4.11 gears come out of a Legacy, and Outbacks have the 4.44, someone correct me if I am wrong...