Message Archive
SVX Shop Search
IRC users:

Go Back   The Subaru SVX World Network > SVX Main Forums > Technical Q & A
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 03-22-2011, 09:21 AM

Registered SVX
vibration @ 30-40 then stops

ok i have been on here for a while trying to figure this out and have read many threads on vibration, but im not sure if mine is the same or not. everybody keeps talking about binding and i thought mine was just a driveline vibration cuz thats what it feels like, i did have bad u joints so i replaced all the u joints and still have my vibration.

i am new to the svx, i bought this one from a guy in denver colorado who was just going to junk it because he couldnt fix it and people werent offering him enough to buy it. so i got the car with a bad trans axle, the spiders were blown in the front diff. so i decided by doing research on here that i should do the 4.11 conversion, so i got the legacy tranny (with 4.11 did confirm this) and the outback diff (with 4.11 confirmed also and i did the carrier swap).

the car ran great, nice and smooth but did have the slow shift in 3rd gear so disconnected the resistor for firm shifts for now... gonna order shift kit... then after about 2 weeks i started getting the vibration, i installed the fwd fuse and it does go away.

so my question is i have the awd clutch basket off the stock tranny, should i pull it and see how it looks? and how do i check the solenoid c? and would the solenoid c even be my problem? cuz i dont seem to have any binding at slow turns or anything like other people were saying just a vibratrion @ 30mph-40mph plus a whirrr noise at my shifter.
Old 03-22-2011, 09:47 AM

Registered SVX
Re: vibration @ 30-40 then stops

sorry for long post.... to simplify i get vibration starting at 30 mph and is a pulsating vibration, then stops at around 40 mph. it happens under load when i let off the throttle it goes away.
Old 03-22-2011, 03:19 PM