Message Archive
SVX Shop Search
IRC users:

Go Back   The Subaru SVX World Network > SVX Main Forums > Technical Q & A

Old 06-18-2008, 09:13 AM
Was MacGyver

Registered SVX
How hard is a full brake job, honestly?

I got my brake order from SVXfiles and am ready to replace all the rotors and pads, and while I'm at it I'm sure the fluid could use replacing after 5 years since the last full brake job as well.

So in the interest of saving some money (the shop I trust will probably charge $300 or more) I am "considering" doing the job myself.

But being that brakes are a huge safety issue and not to be taken lightly, I want honest opinions on how hard they are to do RIGHT yourself.

I'm no mechanic, but I've done some stuff with this car based on the How-To's shared here - things like sparks plugs, PS o-ring, belts, etc. But if these things are done wrong the car just stops working. If brakes are done wrong people can die.

I found one How-To on here but I wasn't sure how accurate it was and it also doesn't go into bleeding the brakes/replacing fluid, which I think needs to be done.

Opinions and advice appreciated.

1992 SVX LSL "Serenity" 250,000 miles!

I don't care, I'm still free, You can't take the sky from me...
Old 06-18-2008, 10:21 AM

Send a message via AIM to JLHollowX13
Re: How hard is a full brake job, honestly?

as far as replacing the pads and rotors, that is very easy. i replaced my pads recently, and the rotors are even simpler.

as for the fluid, ive never done a complete fluid flush, im not sure how to do that, but bleeding them is easy, which is all ive done. you just need a helper.

i think fluid places, like grease monkey, etc, do brake flushes, not sure how much, but im sure its alot less than 300, so doing the pads and rotors yourself and having someone else flush the fluid would probably be your best bet.
Old 06-18-2008, 10:29 AM

Send a message via AIM to SVXMAN2001

I found this link while searching for how to retrofit R134a A/C systems...