Photo Post
How-To Documents
Message Archive
SVX Shop Search
IRC users:

Go Back   The Subaru SVX World Network > SVX Main Forums > Technical Q & A

Old 04-02-2004, 07:53 PM
deruvian

Question Potential cam seal problem - help!

Lately the quantity of smoke billowing out from under my car has increased. I decided to take a closer look at the problem than I have in the past (jacking the car up, taking off the tires... basically just looking from EVERY possible angle).

It appears as though oil is coming out from the timing belt cover. I'm guessing that either the wind from simply driving or from the fans is making the oil blow back to the exhaust lines.

Anyway... I'm thinking about replacing any and all seals behind the timing belt cover, as well as the timing belt and potentially the water pump. However, I've never done this on any car before. I'm not certain what exactly I should replace while I'm there, how long it will take, what tools I need, or how much it will cost. I'm kind of excited to do this though, since I find most car-related projects to be fun.

So, help me out here!
1) What special tools might I need?
2) What else should I replace while I'm doing this (besides the cam seal, timing belt, and water pump)? My car has 135k on it, so what would be good to replace for the near future?
3) Does anyone remember what the cost of parts may be? Any ideas on the cheapest places to get them (besides subaruparts.com... everyone knows about that one)?

Thanks soooo much to anyone who can help. I've tried searching the boards, and all the info seems to be incomplete and very scattered at best.
Old 04-02-2004, 08:32 PM

1) What special tools might I need?