How-To Documents
Message Archive
SVX Shop Search
IRC users:

Go Back   The Subaru SVX World Network > SVX Main Forums > Technical Q & A

Old 02-22-2010, 09:52 PM

Registered SVX
Newbie here- Need help! Brakes and Timing

Ok- so I bought one of these wonderful cars- been sitting for at least 2 years, and came from New York (salt damage)- and I am trying to make it road worthy again. This is not my first rodeo with subarus, just gut rid of a wonderful Legacy to purchase this beauty. The problem I am having (at this time) is finding a rebuild kit for the front calipers, and wanting to know if anyone has a close up of the crankshaft timing gear. Two owners ago, the crank pulley came off while driving (bad timing job-didn't tighten properly) and has had a wobble ever since. I have tried a new pulley, but still wobbles-I think it may have eaten into the timing gear and now will not sit properly. Any help will be appreciated, and if anyone has any brake parts cheap-let me know!

If it was easy, the previous owner would have done it...story of my life...

1992 Silver-trying to bring back to life!
Old 02-22-2010, 10:02 PM
Subaru Silver Contributor

Registered SVX
Re: Newbie here- Need help! Brakes and Timing

For the brake calipers, just go to Autozone for loaded front rebuilt calipers. They are only about $90 and then a $90 core charge on top that you get back when you return your old ones.
Old 02-22-2010, 10:21 PM
Subaru Gold Contributor

Significant Technical Input Registered SVX

Quote:
Originally Posted by smileycaver View Post
Ok- and wanting to know if anyone has a close up of the crankshaft timing gear. Two owners ago, the crank pulley came off while driving (bad timing job-didn't tighten properly) and has had a wobble ever since. I have tried a new pulley, but still wobbles-I think it may have eaten into the timing gear and now will not sit properly. Any help will be appreciated, and if anyone has any brake parts cheap-let me know!