Photo Post
How-To Documents
Message Archive
SVX Shop Search
IRC users:

Go Back   The Subaru SVX World Network > SVX Main Forums > Technical Q & A

Old 07-06-2009, 09:35 PM

Tranny is out!

So my tranny went out... something broke while i was on the highway and i lost the high gear as the engine was reving at 5k at 80mph... . Thank goodness that i made it back home, but once i got back, car started grinding in the lowr gears.... and i left it parked. Next time i started the car... rev. is gone and makes a funny noise when i put it in rev. So, the tranny is gone! So sad. But anyway, what subie trannys are available... did some research and it seems 4.44 ratio tranny and diff would help and would be the best bet for an auto tranny replacement? Any other ideas? Anyone know roughly the prices for the tranny and diffs and how much labour is in a shop? Im a noob.. so school me if need to. Just don't be too harsh. Thanks
Old 07-06-2009, 09:46 PM
There's a storm coming.

Significant Technical Input Registered SVX
Re: Tranny is out!

Quote:
Originally Posted by chelli View Post
So my tranny went out... something broke while i was on the highway and i lost the high gear as the engine was reving at 5k at 80mph... . Thank goodness that i made it back home, but once i got back, car started grinding in the lowr gears.... and i left it parked. Next time i started the car... rev. is gone and makes a funny noise when i put it in rev. So, the tranny is gone! So sad. But anyway, what subie trannys are available... did some research and it seems 4.44 ratio tranny and diff would help and would be the best bet for an auto tranny replacement? Any other ideas? Anyone know roughly the prices for the tranny and diffs and how much labour is in a shop? Im a noob.. so school me if need to. Just don't be too harsh. Thanks
The how to is in my sig.
Feel free to call.
301-707-2837
Your best bet is to get a remam from LAN for $1000.00 plus shipping.
the first equal length headers,