Old Lockers
Photo Post
How-To Documents
Message Archive
SVX Shop Search
IRC users:

Go Back   The Subaru SVX World Network > SVX Main Forums > General SVX Babble

Old 03-13-2006, 02:37 PM

Power Steering Fluid Question: Mixing ATF + PS FLUID?

Ok xcuse me for being a complete noob/idiot.

What color is P/S Fluid? And ATF Fluid? The fluid in the resevoir is clear at the time. If I were to extract it all out with a baster, what should I fill it with (which fluid is the best? Lucas? Any recommendations on the best thing to fill your p/s resevoir with?) Should I be concerned with the mixing of the 'clear' and the 'new' fluid I will be putting in? Any hazards? Or should I just flush the entire system of its fluids and fill it up with my 'new' fluid? I know mixing motor oil won't be too harmful but wasn't too sure how mixing fluids will affect steering and such... Especially if there's p/s fluid and you're adding ATF. Anything will help. Thanks!
Old 03-13-2006, 02:50 PM
Meow!

Send a message via ICQ to Earthworm Send a message via AIM to Earthworm Send a message via MSN to Earthworm Send a message via Yahoo to Earthworm Send a message via Skype™ to Earthworm
PS Fluid and ATF are very similar. Some will argue that the only difference is colour. I've used PS Fluid in my SVX without a problem. In fact I've probably got 3 different types of oil in my PS system.
Old 03-13-2006, 02:52 PM

They're essentially the same thing, only you pay more for "power steering" fluid. I'd just start using Dexron ATF and forget flushing unless you have reason to believe that what's in there now has turned to sludge. A periodic pump reservoir drain-and-fill should do just fine. I've done mine twice in 30,000 miles.

dcb
Old 03-13-2006, 04:19 PM
Locker Link Solution