Message Archive
SVX Shop Search
IRC users:

Go Back   The Subaru SVX World Network > SVX Main Forums > MOD Mania
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 09-16-2005, 03:59 PM
Giong back to the beaters...

02 sensor and gutted precats

Ok the question is that if I gut the pre cats will the O2 sensors still work properly or will the system need to be modified.....Long story short I bottomed out and mangled the main cat a little and am now looking to redo the exhaust either header back or at least precat back.
89 240sx se red ~165k miles Gone and unknown
89 240sx se Black~185k R.I.P.
85 Toyota pickup ~205k R.I.P.
85 BMW 325e ~ Gone and unknown
85 Ford Mustang getting engine swap now!
05 Colorado ~108k Daily Driver
Old 09-16-2005, 04:14 PM
Thread Killah
Alcyone Gold Contributor

Registered SVX
I had read on here before some speculation that without the precats the 02 sensors do not get hot enough to read correctly.

I have been running with no precats for a few years now and have been getting 25-26 highway mpg and I don't have any CEL problems. So I don't think it will be a problem based on my experience.
92 Ebony LS-L ECUtune Stage2av1, Z32 MAF, 370cc injectors, TomsSVX intake, BontragerWorks 22mm RSB #003, HID Hi and Lo beams, OT endlink and bushing mods, PWR Aluminum radiator, Harvey's QC shift kit, 2.5" flowmaster 80 exhaust, 17" Michelin Pilot Sport A/S, Poly sway bar bushings, Slotted Bradi rotors, AFBeefcake powdercoated calipers, 97 grill, and a huge set of air horns. 300,000 miles and counting
92 Ebony LS-L. ecutune stage1v4, motorsport 1pc pulley. Garage Queen - sold to Dad in upstate NY 155,000 miles
19 Subaru Ascent Premium - -Hers !.
89 DL 4x4 little red wagon - a.k.a. The immortal suby. 275k R.I.P.
Old 09-16-2005, 06:48 PM