How-To Documents
Message Archive
SVX Shop Search
IRC users:

Go Back   The Subaru SVX World Network > SVX Main Forums > Technical Q & A

Old 03-09-2003, 08:06 PM
2 times 4

Question flameouts

I'm new to this with a big problem. I've already checked the archives without sucess. My 94 SVX
runs perfect until suddenly, for no particular reason,it flames out and almost all power is gone.
If I lightly pump the gas as fast as I can for 5-10 minutes it'll suddenly catch and take off like nothing
was ever wrong. At some later date, maybe a day, maybe a week, or maybe 10 minutes it'll do it all
over again. Kind of difficult to take a leasurely drive when it usually gives me a leg cramp. Could it be
a coil boot brakedown? Why would it come back running like normal? Please don't let it be the CPU!!!!!
Can you help?
Old 03-11-2003, 03:17 PM
Meow!

Send a message via ICQ to Earthworm Send a message via AIM to Earthworm Send a message via MSN to Earthworm Send a message via Yahoo to Earthworm Send a message via Skype™ to Earthworm
If you don't touch the gas when this is happening does it just stall?

Maybe something with the TPS?

Worst case would be the ECU.
Old 03-11-2003, 07:00 PM
2 times 4

Thanks for the response. Thought I was alone there for a while. Yeah, most of the time it will
just stall though sometimes it'll idle good for awhile first. Sometimes it'll continue to idle really rough.
It did this once before a couple of years ago and Subaru said it was a coil so I replaced it and didn't
have a problem for almost a year. I got to thinking it was a boot breakdown because I've read of that
but wondered how I could tell what coil without going to a shop. They get me for $85 just to look at
the thing. Last time they said they'd have to fix the exhaust and a front oil seal before they'd even
diagnose the problem. They wanted around $600. I took it home and changed the exhaust gaskets