Message Archive
SVX Shop Search
IRC users:

Go Back   The Subaru SVX World Network > SVX Main Forums > General SVX Babble

Old 09-16-2004, 08:53 PM
samsoup

Newbie - saying hello

Hi guys,

I'm a newbie her.e. well.. newbie to SVX in general.
I was looking into buying a project car ... annd. was initially looking at the Nissan 240SX .. S13 / S14 ... Prelude .. Acura 2.3 CL ... Nissan 300 ZX ...

But than... this customer of mine ( I have a detailing shop ) ... came in with a Pearl SVX... and i was just.. mesmerized ....

And.. i started diggin into it.. V6. .. 230hp ... AWD ... luxury.. power.. i was SOLD~

SO ... now.. im looking around to buy one. Cant find a white one.. so.. i'll probably just get anything.. and.. paint it white. Pearl .. hmm... well.. considering my 2003 Acura RSX Type S .. (pearl white) is sitting in a body shop getting repainted (someone keyed my passenger side) for $1200 ...
Pearl.. im kinda staying away from.

I love the colour.. but.. you can "blend" the colour ...
so if you get it keyed.. $1200 bill.. rather than $100 bill to get it buffed out.

Anyway...

Just saying hello~~
Old 09-16-2004, 09:05 PM

Send a message via ICQ to Mr. Pockets
Registered SVX
Welcome to the site. I think you'll find that many of us have been mesmerized by this car in much the same way.

A minor point - it's not a 'V6,' it's a flat 6. 'V' refers to the shape the two cylinder banks makes, and the SVX's engine is flat instead of a V.

As for picking up an SVX for a 'project car,' I think you'll be pretty disappointed. The car is very complicated and has little aftermarket support. You can't pick and choose your aftermarket parts like you can for the other cars you mentioned.

The SVX was also not meant to be a race car. It was meant to travel at high speeds over long distances comfortably. It is an excellent grand tourer.