How-To Documents
Message Archive
SVX Shop Search
IRC users:

Go Back   The Subaru SVX World Network > SVX Main Forums > General SVX Babble
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 10-06-2010, 09:34 PM

Newbie here

I'm new here, but I know a few folks. I just bought a 96 LSi from Huck and I have to say I'm loving the car!

I've owned and driven XT6es since 1989 (yes, I'm old). Bought my first one brand new and would still be driving it if I hadn't totaled it in '03 (bad memory). I've wanted an SVX since they first came out (before then actually, when I saw one previewed in a Popular Science in 1990). Now I've got one but I'm not totally familiar with the car as I'd like to be. I know the ER27 engine pretty well, but the EG33 is new to me.

Got a few issues that I need to work out, so I wanted to ask a few questions:

• I've got a buzzing exhaust resonator (it's pretty bad!), and I was wondering what the best solution is. From what I've read here the easiest thing is to simply subsitute a straight pipe or a generic resonator. Anything else I should know before I have that done? (keep in mind that unlike a lot of folks, I like a nice QUIET exhaust)

• Got a surging/rough idle issue. Huck thinks it might be a bad TPS or a bad fuel injector, so I might just pull the injectors and send 'em off to be cleaned. But before I do that, I thought I'd describe the problem and see if there were any other ideas on it:

‪‪╓ The rough idle I can handle, but the car does a very rhythmic surging while driving
║ on cruise control. It's almost genuinely as regular as clockwork... the surge is
╙ about 250RPM or so every couple of seconds. Doesn't matter what speed, 45, 65, 75...

Has anyone else had this problem? I'm a huge fan of using cruise control for economy and consistency, but this thing is giving me the exact opposite on both counts!