Photo Post
How-To Documents
Message Archive
SVX Shop Search
IRC users:

Go Back   The Subaru SVX World Network > SVX Main Forums > Technical Q & A

Old 07-11-2011, 02:59 PM

Question 5spd Swap

I think my transmission is dead in my 92, It goes about 10 feet in first goes to shift, and disengages and this is just after an engine swap because my other svx was having tranny problems. As it seems that I can not win with the auto tranny , I have decided to look into putting a manual in.

I have a few questions before I go about doing this.

1. What transmissions fit in the svx, like out of what cars?

2. Would it be cheaper/better to buy a wrecked car for its 5spd or buy all new parts, and if so does anyone have any places to recommend?

3. For a 5spd swap would it be easier to pull the interior, or engine or both? I just had the engine out no less than a week ago so pulling that wouldn't be too hard.

If anyone else has some tips from experience or ideas, please let me know. I am new to this so any other info would be greatly appreciated

Thanks,
Josh
Old 07-11-2011, 04:40 PM
Inventor of the 5-speed swap

Significant Technical Input Registered SVX
Re: 5spd Swap

See link in my sig.....
88 XT6 AWD 5-Speed "Bride of FrankenWedge"
15 Impreza Premium Sedan
15 Crosstrek XV 5-Speed
My 5-Speed "How-To" Write-up
1976 Pontiac Firebird Formula
Current Count of Subaru's Owned.... "70"
Old 07-11-2011, 04:54 PM

Registered SVX

Pull the interior ???????????? Y
USED I would think would be the way to go. NEW from a dealer ... OUCH I just got burned talking about it .
If you don't plan on beating on it, then a Legacy tranny will work .
If you want it to last and take the beating , then a WRX tranny newer than 03 is the right choice . . Just going by what I have been told .
Here again though t he Legacy is cheaper and maybe easier to find.
I don;t know if a Forester is better than a Legacy and I have heard people have had luck even with the Impreza .