How-To Documents
Message Archive
SVX Shop Search
IRC users:

Go Back   The Subaru SVX World Network > SVX Main Forums > Not Exactly SVX
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 09-22-2003, 08:47 PM

Lightbulb College Essay

So im new to the whole college thing, i was wondering if i could get an opinion on my essay so far, its relating to something we read but i just wanna know if it makes sense....ill paste what i have so far....

Critical Analysis
“Why The Terrorists Attacked Us”
Samuel Francis

Throughout the past two years or so, we (as a nation) have been pushed into, if not thrown into, the thought that war is ok. Ever since nine-eleven patriotism has reached a new high, as if we needed a reason to be proud of our country, and of our accomplishments as a democracy. There is now an abundance of flags everywhere, visible off the sides of houses, as stickers on the back of cars, some people even wear pins. If you ask yourself, would we have this sense of pride before the attacks on that day? Say in 1995, the year of the Oklahoma City bombing, was there this much focus on nationality back then? In my opinion, no, and the reason for my answer to that question is because I think that the reason we have such a sense of togetherness now is because we don’t exactly know who we are up against. And we have no clue as to why we were attacked on 9-11. When the Murrah Federal Building collapsed due to a bomb, we knew who did it (Timothy McVeigh), we knew the reasoning behind it, and we knew exactly what we needed to know. Now we don’t really understand what comes with the word “war” and we don’t really care, as long as someone feels the wrath of our military.