IRC users:

Go Back   The Subaru SVX World Network > SVX Main Forums > Technical Q & A

Old 03-15-2009, 01:27 AM
A.L.I.C.E.

Send a message via AIM to techy101 Send a message via Yahoo to techy101
A few more questions...

Yup, more questions from Techy.....

First,
How does this look in the cylinders? It's my first time so I'm not 100% sure what I should be looking for. Is the crap that is on the piston supposed to be there? Can/should it be cleaned off w/o tearing the whole thing apart?

Second,
How does this cylinder look? Ben mentioned to look for scoring, but I'm not sure what exactly that is. I assume it means some kind of scratching.

Third,

What is the best way to clean off the goop from the old head gasket, etc... I tried a light scraping on a very small section but it looked like it put a few very very tiny scratches into the aluminum so I stopped.
Old 03-15-2009, 07:06 AM
51 Club

Registered SVX
Re: A few more questions...

Those cylinders look to be in beautiful condition. You can still see the cross hatching from when it was honed.
I think if you use a bit of heat (heat gun) and a plastic scraper the old gasket material should come off. Maybe some solvent for a final cleaning.
Old 03-15-2009, 01:04 PM
EG33 Impreza RS

looks real good, but the bearings will go far sooner than issues with the walls.
Old 03-15-2009, 01:15 PM
Official AutoX Part Breaker
Subaru Gold Contributor

Registered SVX