Message Archive
SVX Shop Search
IRC users:

Go Back   The Subaru SVX World Network > SVX Main Forums > Technical Q & A

Old 07-20-2001, 08:58 AM
Highwayman

1992 SVX Transmission Woes

Greetings All,

I'm rather new to the SVX experience and, consequently, to the network. I love the car, and the drivers I meet are always entertaining. But now I think I'm seeing the Dark Side of the SVX. Transmission problems!

I have many questions, but the main one is: how much did it cost to replace/rebuild the tranny? I'm thinking replace. I'm in Boise ID so there isn't a huge selection of authorized Subaru service centers. I think I'm stuck with whatever I can get here. I just want some perspective.

"Exactly HOW much shaft am I getting?"

"A moderate amount, sir."

"Well, so long as I know..."

To prevent this from happening again I would like to beef up the ATF cooling system (well, duh). I hear a lot of people talking about B&M coolers. Any suggestions about where to get one online or alternative coolers?

Thanks for any help you can offer!

Highwayman <- Hopefully not destined to be "Bicycleman" or "Nodollarman"
Old 07-20-2001, 09:20 AM
This account is scheduled to be deleted for inactivity

Send a message via AIM to nvrmore100 Send a message via Yahoo to nvrmore100
Hahah welcome aboard. I just had to replace mine about 3 weeks ago. I took mine to the dealer (although it is much cheaper to get it done elsewhere). If I got it rebuilt (which is what you would be getting at the dealer) from another source, I was looking at approx. $1350, plus the hours of labor to take it out and put it back in. The unfortunate part of this however is that you lose your car for a prolonged period of time. The other downside is you don't get a warranty.