Message Archive
SVX Shop Search
IRC users:

Go Back   The Subaru SVX World Network > SVX Main Forums > Technical Q & A
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 05-18-2006, 07:08 AM

Looking for a Mechanic for rear wheel bearing replacement

Hello All
My rear wheel bearings are getting pretty loud so i'm now thinking i have to replace them. Subaru of Mississauga quoated me around $420 PER SIDE, I don't know if this is a good price or a bad price. I think its way over priced. So let me know if its good or not, and if its too high i guess i'm looking for a mechanic around the mississauga area, St. Catharines/Niagara area or Chatham area (kinda living in 3 places, i'm a student on Co-Op) that can help me out with a better price. Does anyone know one.

Or there is another option to consider. We have a SVX parts car with non noisy rear wheel bearings. Would it be easier to remove the rear hubs on the parts car and switch it up. And if you guys think that would be easier, how hard is it? Something i could do??

Thanks in advance
Old 05-18-2006, 08:33 AM

Price seems pretty high. Replacing wheel bearings is not rocket science like some people here would have you believe. Using a press is preferred. I would keep looking for a shop.

I feel a lot more like I do now then I did before.

92 SVX 5spd, (sold),92 SVX Teal, 67 Mustang 351C 5spd, 00 Galant.
Old 05-18-2006, 08:40 AM

Yeah thats what i thaught, Way too high. But what do you think about using the hubs off of our parts car? This car is my everyday car so i can't be without it for a long period of time. Anyways, Thanks for your input.
Old 05-18-2006, 09:45 AM

If you have the part in hand it shouldn't take a shop very long to put them in. Realistically a good shop would have your car for half a day.

Old 05-18-2006, 09:52 AM