Old Lockers
Photo Post
How-To Documents
Message Archive
SVX Shop Search
IRC users:

Go Back   The Subaru SVX World Network > SVX Main Forums > Technical Q & A

Old 01-04-2004, 10:47 AM

Engine in Tilted Position ?? (Is this due to accident???)

I just purchased a 92 SVX that rearended an SUV ...ran up under the back of the SUV......so point of impact is just above the front hood opening. The impact bent the upper radiator support crossbar, cracked the radiator and crumpled the hood......

My question is that I also notice that it appears the engine does not sit perfectly straight up and down.....perpendicular to the level horizontal axis of the car......it is tilted slightly..... so that the front timing belt cover is angled slightly back at the top towards the rear of the car........I suspect (and worry) that this tilted position is due to the impact of the collision.....but since I'm new to the SVX I'm not sure.......could someone tell me for sure....

Should the engine sit perfectly level....horizontally front to back....with the cam belt covers straight up and down....or is the normal postion slightly tilted back???

Thanks for your help.

Warren C.

Last edited by Warren C; 01-04-2004 at 10:51 AM.
Old 01-04-2004, 12:56 PM

Warren,

Just went out and checked my car. If I put a small level against the cam cover, I have to move the top of the level out so there's about an inch gap between it and the cam cover.

So recapping: bottom of level touching bottom of cam cover, top of level about an inch out from top of cam cover for bubble to be centered. Don't take that inch as gospel, it's just a guess made by eyeball.

hope that helped.
Old 01-04-2004, 02:53 PM
alacrity024

the engine should rest slightly lower in the rear (closer to the driver) and slightly higher in the front (next to the radiator).