How-To Documents
Message Archive
SVX Shop Search
IRC users:

Go Back   The Subaru SVX World Network > SVX Main Forums > Technical Q & A

Old 11-22-2002, 09:10 PM
I_Alcyone_I

Please help w/rear suspension noise

Hey, I have a question, its not about the SVX but i know some of you guys are mechanics and might now my answer. I'm driving a plymouth acclaim while I save up funds to get my car fixed (might be soon) on monday the rear of the car started making a high pitched tink, like a spring breaking under pressure, or like fishing line breaking only louder, every time the rear suspension flexes. At first it wasnt too bad doing its two to four times every time the suspension flexed, now it is doing it countless time every time, sounding more like a high pitched creek than an individual tink. Any ideas on what this is? I crawled under the car and i seemed to locate it around the spring area but I studied it for at least a half hour and found no sign of damage, but when im inside the car it sounds like its coming from the opposite side, or maybe even the middle of the rear. I'm getting very frustrated especially considering that its not even my car.

Last edited by I_Alcyone_I; 11-22-2002 at 11:49 PM.
Old 11-22-2002, 09:13 PM
I_Alcyone_I

oh yeah, not sure how important it is, when i jack the car up even from directly under the spring its makes the noise a couple times, but when i let the car back down it doesnt make the noise again until I push down on the back of the car with all my wieght. also, if i dont push down on the car and it wont make the sound while jacking it up again.
Old 11-25-2002, 09:59 AM

Send a message via Skype™ to CigarJohnny
Springs?