How-To Documents
Message Archive
SVX Shop Search
IRC users:

Go Back   The Subaru SVX World Network > SVX Main Forums > General SVX Babble
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 02-15-2006, 01:49 AM
sti'lin

Is an SVX a good first car for a teenager?

Hi, I am new to the network but not new to Subaru's. I currently own a 2004 STI and a 1995 Impreza L. I was considering buying my son a used porsche 944, but that was before my wife reminded me of our great NJ auto insurance premiums.

So having great success with my current and previous subarus. I started looking at the SVX. I have never driven one before but have always liked them.

Is the required maintenance equivalent for other cars this age? (My 1995 has 175,000 miles and still runs great).

Is the transmission the biggest problem with these cars? And can you tell the tranny is going bad during a test drive?

Thanks.
Old 02-15-2006, 02:14 AM

Send a message via ICQ to berger
my 944 was my 3rd car, and the SVX my 4th. i would not reccomend a porsche as a first car..... too many costs, i have been lucky with my SVX, as the only work its needed in the 8 months of owning it was a paint job(due to a freak storm), other than that, its been great, as long as the car isn't thrashed it should be ok
Old 02-15-2006, 02:18 AM
One teal and One yellow

Welcome.

How old is your son? If your son is a sensible kid and won't abuse the power and speed, In my opinions, this car is not that expensive to get now but expensive to repair and take to wait on parts to work on.

You should test drive one and also ask your son to test drive and see what do you guys think. Maybe if you buy one, you may drive it more than your son and give him your Impreza.