Message Archive
SVX Shop Search
IRC users:

Go Back   The Subaru SVX World Network > SVX Main Forums > General SVX Babble
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 10-02-2001, 10:24 AM
JadeMonkeyStang

Smile Introduction and Buying Tips

Hey everyone, let me start off by introducing myself. My name is Dustin, and I'm a sophomore at Rutgers University in New Jersey. I'm an electrical/computer engineering and business major with an economics minor. I've always liked cars, and am just about to put the finishing touches on my first restoration, a 1969 Mustang Fastback. Next on the list is a car for my dad, a 1949 Chrysler New Yorker. If anyone wants to know more, feel free to email or IM me.

The reason I have come to this board is obviously my intrest in the SVX. My car (an 88' Buick Century) was recently totaled in an accident, which leaves me in the market for a "new" car. While looking through some classifieds I saw a SVX, and was very impressed with its lines, awd, and creature comforts. My two primary intrests right now are either an SVX or a Buick Turbo Regal (ie. Grand National). I'm looking for a car that will be fairly reliable, deliver decent performance, be comfortable for a large person (I'm 6'3''), and be affordable. A local dealer has a 92' SVX for $3900 obo. If someone could give me some things to watch for when I go to look at this car on Saturday that would be great. I still have a lot to learn about the SVX and since I have no firsthand experience I don't know what one should drive/behave/perform like. Any tips you guys could give me would be wonderful. I know about the basic issues with transmission problems, wheels bearings, and brake rotors, but is there anything else I should know about the "quirks" of these cars? Thanx in advance for all your help.
Old 10-02-2001, 11:22 AM
oneothefewproud

Dustin,

Welcome to the network. You have come to the right place.