IRC users:

Go Back   The Subaru SVX World Network > SVX Main Forums > Technical Q & A

Old 01-06-2009, 01:05 PM
There is no charge for Awesome

Send a message via AIM to Chuckles
Registered SVX
Random Coolant leak?

Hi All...

So I have this issue, and I'm no mechanic. so I'm trying to figure this one out. I have to fill my coolant more and more lately (I drive this car once a week, so I fill once a month), but it never leaks consistently(I replace maybe a gallon every two months). It is really strange to me. here are my symptoms:

1.) I have to fill it but somehow the overflow doesn't really drain as fast as the Radiator. (maybe leaks when it is off?)
2.) The upper and lower RAD hoses are fine
3.) The fluid builds up on the passengers side of the engine, not in the front but towards it.
4.) My oil is clean but I use royal purple so maybe I can't tell if there is coolant there.
5.) supposedly a mechanic pressure tested my system and said it was the cap. which was replaced then.
6.) I do have dry steamed coolant build-up around the new 13 psi cap
7.) It only leaks when the car is warm, and even then, you need to park it for at least 5-10 minutes to see a dollar width puddle. I do notice leakage in the morning, but it might be excess from the skid plate.

I don't get it.... I just don't get it at all. I thought the water pump was in the front toward the drivers side, I haven't checked it because it is cold outside and I'd like to get a little input before I tear apart things twice. could this be my head gasket? I have never heard of a gasket going at 112k except in American Cars, but I wonder? I am also suspecting the water pump might need repair.
I was under the car four months ago with a mechanic buddy of mine, and we didn't see any leakage from the gaskets. The military moved us to New Jersey so I can't drive down to his lift and check it out. so I ask you fine folks, WHAT is going on here?

Thanks

Jason
Old 01-06-2009, 05:04 PM
Avalanche Alcyoneer