SVX Shop Search
IRC users:

Go Back   The Subaru SVX World Network > SVX Main Forums > Technical Q & A

Old 10-30-2008, 07:57 AM
Happy SVX
Subaru Silver Contributor

Registered SVX
Advice for newbie changing coolant and ebrake adjustment

I was thinking of changing out the coolant this weekend, I have never done it before but I am guessing it is not to hard. Does anyone have any recommendations or tips that might help me out?

Also I would like tighten up the emergency brake. The instructions are "Remove adjusting hole cover from back plate (rubber plug), Turn adjusting screw using a flat screwdriver ", but where exactly is this back plate located?
1992 SVX LSL 5-Speed Sold at 180K 2019
1995 SVX Lsi Polo Sold at 118K 2007
Old 10-30-2008, 08:32 AM

Re: Advice for newbie changing coolant and ebrake adjustment

Jack up rear of car from rear diff and support on jackstands. Looking from underneath the car at the back of the rear wheels you will see a little oblong rubber grommet on the drum of the rear brake assembly. Remove this plug, stick flatblade screwdriver in there and turn the star wheel. It should onle turn one way and make a clicking sound while doing so. Do this a little at a time, adjust spin wheel, adjust spin wheel etc. etc. Do this till there is just a little drag then switch sides. However i thought on the e-brake that the cable had adjustment on it like on other vehicles to keep the throw of the handle down. I'll check when i get mine up in the air to do the same thing.
Old 10-30-2008, 11:30 PM
Subaru Technician

Send a message via AIM to Hondasucks Send a message via MSN to Hondasucks Send a message via Yahoo to Hondasucks
Registered SVX

There is an arrow on the backing plate that indicates which direction to turn the starwheel. IT WILL TURN BOTH WAYS! Turn it in the direction of the arrow until the wheel locks, then back it off four teeth. Do a search for parking brake adjustment, I posted a PDF from the factory service manual on how to do it.