Photo Post
How-To Documents
Message Archive
SVX Shop Search
IRC users:

Go Back   The Subaru SVX World Network > SVX Main Forums > Technical Q & A

Old 10-13-2005, 04:18 PM
bernard

whats causing this tranny/driveline noise?

I am new to this svx forum and am inquiring if anyone out there has experienced a similar problem with the one I'm currently having with my 93 svx (awd) SE with 129,000 miles on it. It sounds like a wheel bearing noise, that increases in both volume and frequency corresponding to the speed of tire rotation. (faster rotation equals higher noise and frequency). The volume of this noise is highest between 45 and 55 mph, and dissipates slightly in intensity after about 5 minutes of sustained cruising at highway speeds. However, within the past 15,000 miles, I have had all four wheel bearings professionally replaced, after having those new bearings first repacked with synthetic wheel bearing grease. A professional (master) mechanic who has solved/fixed just about every possible problem on this svx to date, is now unsure of the source of this noise. He has already taken this car out on the highway with 3 mechanic friends aboard in an attempt to pinpoint the direction/side of the car that this noise is coming from. All four mechanics agreed that the noise appeared to BE COMING FROM ALL FOUR CORNERS OF THE CAR EQUALLY! After putting the car up on a hydraulic lift and running the car with the wheels off the ground, much of the overall noise disappeared, so stethescopes were used to determine the location. These mechanics concluded that this noise appeared to be coming from loudest somewhere at the very rear of the transmission, and possibly rearward from there from the u-joint backward. The stethescope said the noise was loudest almost equally along this area, leading them to beleive that it was possibly a bad u-joint or some kind of rear output bearing on the transmission etc. Subaru does not sell just the u-joint itself, but rather a whole "propeller"