Message Archive
SVX Shop Search
IRC users:

Go Back   The Subaru SVX World Network > SVX Main Forums > Technical Q & A
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 12-16-2004, 06:03 PM
greg

The never ending AWD problem!

Okay, I am not a complete novice at this SVX thing, I have had an SVX since '92 but none more baffling than this one. I have had a continous problem getting the AWD drive to work. I have had five trannies in the last year and a half, as well as I have had the entire car overhauled and spent almost 15,000 dollars fixing this specimen and have been without the car for a year now. THe guy that finally woked on the car has done a great job (though slow).

BUT!!!, the AWD drive does not work still. I have replaced not only the tranny at Subaru dealership here but the duty solenoid c and the clutch pack twice and still there is no AWD. I know that the gentleman that is working on the car has gotten over his head now and decided to give me an excuse:
"I have called Japan and was delighted to speak to the engineers (I guess they speak english?) and explained your problem. They have said that there is nothing else I can fix on the car and it is performing to specs at this time. The TCU on this car has learning capabilites and will learn to thrust power to the rear wheels as you continue to drive the vehicle"

WHAT? No that is not true? I know that the TCU does have learing capabilites but that is simply shift points and general transmission functions not anything to do with the AWD system. The AWD system is direcly linked to the ABS system which should, if working properly, identify slip and move power through coupling or clutch packs diverting power left to right using limited slip diff?????? There is no learing to be done????

Am I close? Is this guy blowing me off or receiving bad information from Subaru?

Any thought on how to get my AWD back? I have paid everyone to try to fix the car???

g