Photo Post
How-To Documents
Message Archive
SVX Shop Search
IRC users:

Go Back   The Subaru SVX World Network > SVX Main Forums > General SVX Babble

Old 01-04-2002, 01:48 PM

Another new SVXer

I've been hanging around this board for a few months and decided I should introduce myself. I bought my SVX as a potential replacement for my 1996 Nissan 300ZX back in September when my company warned us of potential layoffs. I also wanted something that would be more comfortable on long drives and handle the winter roads better (yes, I put lot's of miles on it and it's covered in salt and dirt right now).

I'd first seen a SVX at the Kansas City autoshow back in 1994, and I've wanted one ever since... of course, I've also wanted my BMW 2002s, my 300ZX, my two CRXs, and many other cars that I haven't owned yet... I love cars

Anyway, I saw this particular SVX advertised at a local Kia dealer for $3900. When I went to see it, the salesman told me somebody else was trying to get the money to buy it, but whoever got him the money first would have it... and then he dropped the price to $3800. He didn't know what it was and just wanted it off the lot, so I whipped out one of those credit card checks and quickly became the proud owner of a black 1992 SVX with 107,000 miles on it.

It needed an new radiator and the headliner replaced, and I still need a sunshade for the driver's side, and I'll be getting the rear bearings replaced in a few weeks. As soon as I got the radiator replaced, I also had a tranny cooler installed (the tranny was already replaced back in '97). I'm also looking at getting a set of the Koni shocks...

Now for the sad part The SVX was supposed to be my daily driver so that I could keep my 300ZX in good shape. However, on Dec 13th, my 300ZX was stolen from my apartment parking lot and found burning in a cemetery less than an hour later. Some #@%! had stolen and destroyed my car for a $360 radio. Here are some pics for the morbidly curious: