How-To Documents
Message Archive
SVX Shop Search
IRC users:

Go Back   The Subaru SVX World Network > SVX Main Forums > General SVX Babble
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 04-14-2002, 11:55 PM
EvilYoda

I'm unfamiliar with the SVX's, please help me out...

Hi everyone, just wanted to introduce myself, my name's Joe, and I'm a student at the University of Michigan Ann Arbor.

So first off, I'll admit that I don't know much about the SVX, although I have seen one before. The situation is the I'm looking to buy a used car this summer, and generally other students offer the best prices on their cars. Turns out, someone's selling a '92 SVX, with 90,xxx miles on it, for $6300. Doing a quick blue-book check, the price seems high, so here are some questions I have:

What would be a good price for me to get a car of a similar year/comparison at? Some other sites listed the SVX line as having the same problems in all cars made, that being the transmission, wheel-bearing failure and bent/warped rotors. I don't believe I'll have too much time to fix the car, although I will be taking care of it, as I want to get to know more about cars. How much trouble will this car cost me, time-wise and financially? (Broke college student here. )

From what I've seen of it in pictures, it's an impressive cars, and it seems to have a very loyal fanbase, of which, I'm sure there's a reason for. I'll have to wait to see it in person, and probably have a mechanic check it out. (Is anybody located near Detroit/AA that's good enough with the car to tinker through it?)

Sorry for the long post, but I just want to get my research done fast, since finals are approaching. I'll be checking this thread occasionally, but if you feel you have something special to say (possibly a better offer or suggestion? ), email me at Eville64@hotmail.com or jchsu@umich.edu.