Photo Post
How-To Documents
Message Archive
SVX Shop Search
IRC users:

Go Back   The Subaru SVX World Network > SVX Main Forums > Technical Q & A

Old 05-09-2004, 05:54 PM

Unhappy Cam Seal Installation Help Needed

I've been working on my timing belt/water pump replacement over the weekend, and everything has been going smoothly, with the exception of installing new cam seals -- I just can't seem to get them in!

First off, the part number: Subaru 806730150

Am I using the correct seals?

I have lubed the ID of the new seals, but have left the OD unlubricated, per Beav's prior advice on this forum.

I've tried tapping the new seals in using a 2 inch length of one-inch diameter PVC pipe, but no progress. Part of the problem is that there is limited access (even with the radiator removed) to swing a hammer and give the pipe a nice sharp blow.

One last question for Beav -- I used Hylomar when reinstalling the oil pump, per your prior recommendation. I have no prior experience with it (I've always used the "Ultra Black" silicone). Does this stuff work? It doesn't appear to be hardening.

Thanks for any and all help!

Joe Fillip
Swarthmore, PA
'95 L AWD ("The Wayback Machine")
Old 05-09-2004, 06:34 PM
deruvian

Re: Cam Seal Installation Help Needed

Quote:
Originally posted by lanciat
I've been working on my timing belt/water pump replacement over the weekend, and everything has been going smoothly, with the exception of installing new cam seals -- I just can't seem to get them in!

First off, the part number: Subaru 806730150

Am I using the correct seals?

I have lubed the ID of the new seals, but have left the OD unlubricated, per Beav's prior advice on this forum.

I've tried tapping the new seals in using a 2 inch length of one-inch diameter PVC pipe, but no progress. Part of the problem is that there is limited access (even with the radiator removed) to swing a hammer and give the pipe a nice sharp blow.