Message Archive
SVX Shop Search
IRC users:

Go Back   The Subaru SVX World Network > SVX Main Forums > Not Exactly SVX
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 03-28-2006, 12:59 PM

Send a message via AIM to SVXMAN2001
Anyone in the Market?

Hey guys/gals, is anyone in the stock market here? I've been doing a lot of research as of late and am starting to become more and more interested. I am new to it so i am a bit hesitant to take the initial step of putting my money down. Was just wondering what strategies you all use, what companies you prefer. I've found investpedia.com to be very beneficial and signed up for a one month free trial with www.fool.com (interesting web name). I am very interested to hear people's comments.

-chris
Old 03-28-2006, 03:30 PM
Hitchhikin'

Start with Scottrade. They have the cheapest commission for trades (at least the basic ones that most people get started out with). $7 flat rate. They require $500 minimum to set up an account. To be honest, it's really not worth trading $500 at a time. It's better to trade at least $1000 (and preferably more) each time so that the commission is only 0.7% ($7/$1000) to buy or sell rather than 1.4% @ $500 ($7/$500). Basically, at $1000, you would need a 1.4% gain just to break even, and 2.8% at $500 to do the same.

To be honest, I do trade $500 at a time, but I've been picking VERY risky stocks, so I either make more than 20% or lose more than 20%, and that's the only way I can justify such low trades.

I've noticed that most people want to trade often when they first get started, assuming that they can make small gaisn with each trade and make money. I'm in that mode right now. A better approach is to buy and hold a stronger stock, rather than trying to beat the market on its ups and downs.