SVX Shop Search
IRC users:

Go Back   The Subaru SVX World Network > SVX Main Forums > General SVX Babble
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 09-06-2005, 08:42 PM
PizzaMan

Few Questions about SVX's before I buy

Hello,
In getting a car (1991 Volvo 240 w/ 210k) for my sister from a guy, I saw that he also had an SVX (Long story, I can explain later if you'd like) for sale. It's a 1992 SVX with Touring Package, which I verified by looking at the VIN for the X35. He says it is completely optioned, visible by the spoiler and CD player. I just have to verify that it has an engine block heater (Not important to me, just curious). It was a Virginia car, meaning NO RUST, which is important to me living in NY. Here's all the info I have-

1992 Subaru SVX
100,000 miles
Touring Package
BLACK!!!
New set of wheels
New exhaust
New wheel bearings
Brakes turned down
$5400

I'm no n00b to home car repair, but I'm no mechanic either. I do brakes, minor cosmetic repair, and I would like to start doing my own oil changes.

I guess what I'm really asking is, Is this a car which will last me for the rest of college and some time there after? What should I check/look out for/be wary of? I've got 4 years left to go, and I probably drive about 10,000 miles per year. I've become religious with oil changes. This will be MY first car, as my current one is owned by my parents. I love the car not only for the fact of how it drives, but also due to the fact that I have seen 2 in my entire lifetime.

P.S. Did I mention it's Black ?
Old 09-06-2005, 09:46 PM
Hater

i don't want to be a downer, but a 100k mile SVX probably isn't the best choice as a first car for a college student with 4 years of school left.

it could possibly run reliably for you and not give you any trouble, or it could REALLY bite you in the arse. are you a gambler?