SVX Shop Search
IRC users:

Go Back   The Subaru SVX World Network > SVX Main Forums > General SVX Babble
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 06-05-2001, 08:32 AM

Send a message via ICQ to Mr. Pockets
Registered SVX
Talking 'Test Drive Le Mans' a real hoot

As some of you know, I make video games for a living. Therefore, I play an awful lot of video games in my spare time. Well, maybe not an 'awful lot' since I got married.

Anyway, one of my favorite genres is racing games. The stick against which all racing games now get measured (in my mind) is the Gran Turismo series. Call me crazy, but I dig the ability to finely tune gear ratios and suspension settings. Therefore, since this series has been available, I've stuck my nose up at just about everything since. Arcade racers don't have the detail or realism that I seek.

That being said, I recently bought Test Drive Le Mans for the Dreamcast, and it's a thrill to play. I'll skip to the fun stuff: I rose through the different championships and just finished the Open Prototype class, and had an absolute blast. The shrieking engines of 14 open Le Mans cars is exciting in a way I haven't experienced since the last time I was at the June Sprints at Road America.

And this one has actual pit strategy once you get into the longer races. Picking your tire compound and fuel load is important.

That all being said, the game lacks some things I wish it didn't. The difficulty settings aren't well done. Among the variables that change between the three settings is the opponent AI, which is really jsut a fancy way of saying how much your opponents are allowed to break the game's rules of physics. I would like to play on the 'expert' setting (and therby turning off the very basic traction control and ABS), but that means all the cars but mine make perfect starts and take every corner flat.

Okay, that's enough. Just thought I'd submit my review.

2005 RX-8 Grand Touring
2005 Outback