Photo Post
How-To Documents
Message Archive
SVX Shop Search
IRC users:

Go Back   The Subaru SVX World Network > SVX Main Forums > General SVX Babble

Old 04-25-2011, 07:06 PM

Power Light?

I am new to subaru and was wondering what this light means?
and also another question these cars need to run on 91 octane gas right?
Old 04-25-2011, 07:12 PM

Registered SVX
Re: Power Light?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rolling92SVX View Post
I am new to subaru and was wondering what this light means?
and also another question these cars need to run on 91 octane gas right?
The power light tells you when the transmission is in "sporty" mode, its is an automatic thing that adjusts shift points based on throttle position and other factors.
It also will blink 16 times when you first start the car if there is a problem with the transmission.
It lets you know you need to run the diagnostic and check for codes.
These cars are made to run on the highest premium gas available, some areas that is 93 octane others that is 91.
Old 04-25-2011, 07:18 PM

ok ill keep that in mind and thanks for the power mode info i just searched it also
the previous owner has 89 in the car now it seem to have gave it a slight tap in the engine.. :/
Old 04-25-2011, 07:23 PM

Registered SVX

Our motors are prone to lifter tick, especially when cold. If it is a light tap and goes away for the most part when the engine is warm and has seen high rpm's, I would not worry about it.

'92 Ls-L Dark Teal
11:1 CR ECUTUNE pistons
ECUTUNE .256 duration intake/exhaust cams
ECUTUNE STAGE 2AV1 ECU
Z32 MAF/SR20DET injectors
Balanced & Blueprinted
Old 04-25-2011, 07:42 PM
Super Moderator
Alcyone Gold Contributor

Significant Technical Input Registered SVX Classic SVX