Live Chat!
SVX or Subaru Links
Old Lockers
Photo Post
How-To Documents
Message Archive
SVX Shop Search
IRC users:

Go Back   The Subaru SVX World Network > SVX Main Forums > MOD Mania > Brake Upgrades

Old 03-24-2010, 11:50 PM
$1 is just $1, but $2 = nachos

STi brakes, the brute force way!

So, I was fed up with the brakes on my SVX... not just with the poor pedal feel, but also with the lack of heat capacity (I'm an SCCA driving instructor, so every now and then the SVX sees the race track, and I get one or two good stops out of the car before the pads are faded). Sure, the brakes are adequate for driving around on the street... but I've seen the light with my StopTechs on my WRX, and I want that on the SVX too.

Additionally, and probably a big contributor to the poor brake feel on my SVX, my wheel bearings are on their way out. I've to the point where I'm getting quite a bit of brake drag as well as pad knock-back due to the bearing flex, so I decided to kill two birds with one stone. The stone in this case is a pair of StopTech 328x28 brakes for a WRX mounted on a set of '07 STi knuckles and hubs adapted to the SVX.

The STi knuckles are pretty close in shape to the SVX, but they're not straight bolt in. So far, I haven't sorted out all the issues quite yet, but I have made a bunch of progress. Here are all the issues as I see them, and my solution so far:

1) Suspension upright mounting - the spacing between the holes on the SVX uprights is just a little tighter than on the STi. One solution would be converting to STi suspension, but that just pushes the problem out to the top-hats and there's of course the whole strut length deal. I'm choosing just to slot the lower hole on the knuckle enough to allow the stock suspension to bolt up. This also leaves me the option of switching to STi struts in the future.