Message Archive
SVX Shop Search
IRC users:

Go Back   The Subaru SVX World Network > SVX Main Forums > Technical Q & A

Old 02-08-2003, 01:53 PM
not just a fan, a Member!

help solicitation

hey y'all

i just went to the custom sound shop in the madison area today... they're quoting me 600+ to get my system installed....

so... i guess i would like to go the Do it Yourself route and try to install this thing by myself.

problem: i've never worked on the sound system of a car before... and don't know if i have the right tools, enough wiring... blah blah to get it done....

so, i'm soliciting help from the members from this network with stereo know hows.... to come by and help me install... although i don't know much about sound installation, i do know how a screw driver work and is a fast learner....

what i have to intall: speakers, amp, sub, lcd screen, dvd player...
indiglo guages, side markers...

please help!!

oh, and if anyone can find the guide to speakers installation, please post? i'm searching threads but i can't find it...

thanks
Old 02-08-2003, 02:16 PM
Boone

Hmm... Check the links page and the how-to locker. It's all there.
Old 02-08-2003, 02:27 PM
My car's Italian, right?

Send a message via AIM to Tim
I know the trick to taking out the 6x9's. The how-to is kind of confusing so i can explain how to do it. After lots of man hours of sitting in the most uncomfortable positions in my back seat and bugging Mike a lot (thanks mike! )I figured it out.

Before I begin, DO NOT TRY PRYING OFF THE GRILLES. It is held down on the bottom by like 10 screws and the entire thing will break if you try!

You have to fold down the rear seat, and then it allows you to get access to the screws holding on the side interior panels of the car.

Unscrew the screws and take out the plastic piece that is on the screw as well.