How-To Documents
Message Archive
SVX Shop Search
IRC users:

Go Back   The Subaru SVX World Network > SVX Main Forums > Technical Q & A

Old 09-01-2003, 04:09 PM
wolf33h

Help with bearing packing!

Lee suggested I post this here, rather than in New member intro.
I am a backyard mechanic (trying to do a man's job!). I have in my hand a new rear wheel bearing, identical to the one I took out of my ailing noisy passenger side (NTN 4T-CRI-08A02).
The bearing has a width of about 1 7/8 inch, and on both sides, tapered rollers in a black retainer can be seen. The roller part measures 9/16 in width, so there is left a space of 3/4 in.
I cleaned the cosmolene packing grease away, and the bearing is ready for greasing.
The question is: regardless of how the greasing is done (by hand, or with a packing tool), should the 3/4 in cylinder within the bearing without rollers be filled with grease also? I can measure the approximate grease volume to be used, but cannot see the grease inside. If the space is filled, would the heat expansion bust the seals? If there is too little grease, would air traps hinder lubrication? Comments and/or suggestions are much appreciated!!!
wolf33h
Old 09-01-2003, 05:55 PM
Making tires round, Six now :)

Hi Wolf33h
Well that is a very good question.
I have been thinking the same thing.
How much of that cavity gets filled up?
Old 09-02-2003, 08:39 PM
wolf33h

Lightbulb Re: Help with bearing packing

Lee's advice is: The space between the races gets greased!
Old 09-02-2003, 10:06 PM

Re: Re: Help with bearing packing

Quote:
Originally posted by wolf33h
Lee's advice is: The space between the races gets greased!
just so everybody understands, I'm a backyard mechanic with little common sense but a love of, dare I say it, quirky vehicles (a Norton Commando & my SVX make quite a pair for people wondering about my sanity - why not just drive an Accord or Camry, huh?).