How-To Documents
Message Archive
SVX Shop Search
IRC users:

Go Back   The Subaru SVX World Network > SVX Main Forums > Technical Q & A

Old 05-21-2003, 12:40 PM
_-DejaVu-_

Sub or amp won't work

Well, for 2 weeks my car has sounded bare.
My sub or amp quit working. I'm not good with stereos at all.
All of the wires are hooked up right, and none are loose.
The only thing I know, is that the power light on my amp works. So, what would be the problem?

*Crying* I WANT MY MUSIC BACK!!!

Deja
Old 05-21-2003, 12:45 PM
_-DejaVu-_

Oppppps
Sorry, posted it in the wrong section.
Oh well
Old 05-21-2003, 01:38 PM
Subaru Swapper

Send a message via AIM to AFBeefcake
check for power with a meter, check fuses, ground wire, and REM power on wire. look for 12 V across ground and + and Ground and REM power on with the radio on. most likely its a fuse or loose wire.
Old 05-21-2003, 04:13 PM
Casper Killer

Send a message via AIM to BLKSVX92 Send a message via Yahoo to BLKSVX92
could be that your sub is fried

1992 SVX Build 4/91 SOLD TO gsodonis
2002 Civic Si SOLD
2005 Lancer Evolution VIII TRADED
2008 STi
Old 05-21-2003, 04:45 PM

does the amp drive anything besides the sub? if yes, do the other speakers make music? don't mean to insult, but you know it's kinda like the computer tech asking you to make SURE the computer is plugged into the wall and the power switch is "on".

were there any sound issues before this happened, i.e., the sub making bad noises?

if you have a volt-ohm meter, you should be able to connect across the output wires of the amp and see voltage/current flow with the radio on - if the amp hasn't fried itself. Along these lines, is it possible something shorted out the +/- wires on the amps output side (that will frequently fry the output transistors).

If you put a current limiting resistor inline with battery voltage you should be able to test the sub by direct application of DC voltage and making sure it moves when voltage is applied/removed.