Message Archive
SVX Shop Search
IRC users:

Go Back   The Subaru SVX World Network > SVX Main Forums > General SVX Babble

Old 06-10-2007, 01:51 AM
A.L.I.C.E.

Send a message via AIM to techy101 Send a message via Yahoo to techy101
My Project Blog (PLOG)

So I decided that I'd like to keep a running log of this project from start to finish. I'm not sure if this is the correct sub-forum, so feel free to move it.

I'll preface this with saying please correct me if I'm calling things by the wrong names, or are incorrect about something. This is my first time doing something this in depth with a car, and I'm kinda stumbling my way through learning as I go along (allbeit with a lot of help)

Anyways, today only a little bit got done. I got the piston that holds the timing belt in place put back in, and everything seems peachy. I won't really know until I get the rest of the car together and can fire her up again.

The A/C is now totally removed. (well, at least the parts in the engine bay)

I'll be purchasing a tranny cooler and a new tranny filter in the very near future to help out until I save up the $$ to do the manual swap. Those will go in before I put everything back together, just as a matter of convenience.

The brake leak that I have seems to be coming from a hard line, but I can't exactly tell where. Two lines drop under the car from the inside, just below or behind of the rear bench on the passenger side. They then go back beyond where I could see with my limited vantage point at the time. But the fluid was clearly coming from there. A few hard pumps of the brakes confirmed that. That's high on the list to tackle as soon as I get back in town.

Also cleaned the engine bay kinda. Just soaked with simple green, and hosed down twice. Made a huge difference. There's still a lot more cleaning to be done, but this alone made it look like a whole new car.