How-To Documents
Message Archive
SVX Shop Search
IRC users:

Go Back   The Subaru SVX World Network > SVX Main Forums > Technical Q & A

Old 03-27-2002, 01:52 PM
smokinsvx

tranny

a couple weeks ago i posted about my tranny getting fixed by the person who sold it to me. The shop that fixed it ran a dyno test on it and it shows the rwd kicking in 7 times on the first test and 72 on the 2nd test. This test supposedly varies road conditions for 30 min incriments. I thought that awd was 90 10 split so the rwd would be on all the time? maybe it is because it kicks in harder than most in adverse conditions? They are putting a new cpu on the tranny. Also the tranny guy says that this is what they believe burns that back clutches out. Kicking in 72 times in 30 minutes. Doesn't sound healthy for the tranny. I'm a newbie so any thoughts?
Old 03-27-2002, 07:49 PM
Making tires round, Six now :)

The rear wheel drive is always on if everything is working. The clutch pack in the back of the transmission also acts as the front to rear differential. While in the corners the transfer clutches have to slip to allow the front wheels to spin faster than the rear. The amount of slip is controled by the transfer clutch pressure. The higher the pressure the less the slip in the clutch pack.

I do not know the type of test that they did but when the accelerator is depressed the transfer pressure is increased. Stomping on the throttle raises the transfer pressure to the full value.

You can check the AWD without the dyno by raising all four wheels off the ground and making sure they all spin at idle.

If you pulsed your foot on the throttle 72 times in 30 minutes then yes the RWD drive would be kicking in and out as you moved your foot down and up.
Old 03-27-2002, 10:22 PM
smokinsvx

tranny

they say that this dyno simulates hills, icy etc...... they say that they ran the same test as the first
Old 03-28-2002, 04:11 PM
Making tires round, Six now :)