Photo Post
How-To Documents
Message Archive
SVX Shop Search
IRC users:

Go Back   The Subaru SVX World Network > SVX Main Forums > Technical Q & A

Old 01-09-2003, 08:09 PM
RCBrady85

Question D or 3 for Transmission life extension?

Hello everyone. I read somewhere on some website that driving short distances or around town or up to get the groceries it's best to drive in 3 than in D, to put less of a load on the transmission. is this true? I cant really notice very much of a difference between driving in the two, but im a beginning driver. but i do notice that in 3 it drives slower, needs a bit more gas to move more than while in D, but not sure. Only got 36k miles on my 96 svx, and i wanna try me darndest to keep the transmission alive and kicking. what should i do about driving in D or 3?
Old 01-09-2003, 08:57 PM

Registered SVX
Yes around town and below approx 50 mph use 3 which is direct drive whereas D is overdrive for cruising. The SVX has high gearing as you must have observed when watching the tacho.

If you are in D around town or on a winding road the tranny will constantly hunt down and up from D to 3 causing udue gear and friction surface wear. Also the torque converter will be slipping more and creating extra heat. What is more in very dense slow stop go traffic it can be good idea to stay in 2 for the same reasons.

It is a good thing to do a little thinking for the tranny. Auto it may be but it has a limited brain ! You will find a lot of info. and discussion on this subject in posts here if you do a search.

As a child, on cold mornings I gladly stood in cowpats to warm my bare feet, but I detest bull$hit!
Old 01-09-2003, 09:02 PM

Send a message via AIM to kuoh
I drive in D exclusively, and while the tranny is not in the best of shape, I highly doubt that driving around in 3 would've helped considering that mine is a 92 and there were a variety of dealer service related issues that contributed to its current condition.

KuoH