Message Archive
SVX Shop Search
IRC users:

Go Back   The Subaru SVX World Network > SVX Main Forums > General SVX Babble

Old 07-15-2004, 12:37 AM
HuskerGuy

Question Need Some Help! New at the Site

Hey everyone, I'm new to the SVX network. Not really a tech question but
have some info/questions about a 1994 SVX purchase...

Firstly,
Its a 1994 SVX L
63,299 miles
Overall, the body is in excellent condition. There are some minor nicks in the paint, but nothing that would deter me from the sale.
Everything seems to be stock. Under the hood seems to be really clean. I was told it was a single owner, but I haven't run a carfax or anything yet.
The dealer is asking for $5,997, but would bump it down to $5,775. The thing is, I would also be trading in my 01 Honda Civic. I would basically be paying off my loan on the civic, and then refinancing on the SVX. I know the retail on the SVX is only about $3,600, and I really don't think this SVX salesman wants to budge. I do not know yet as far as the timing belt or other 60k tune up issues are concerned. Before I make any move on the car I will definitely check it out thoroughly.

Can anyone give me any advice to whether or not this is a good purchase? Is there anything I should know before getting involved with this model of Subaru? I know Subaru is highly reliable and I love their cars.

Thanks for the help.
Old 07-15-2004, 01:30 AM

First make sure it is an AWD. L model might be a FWD. If it is FWD just walk away.

Second get a transmission checked - these things are around $3k to get fixed and it looks like everybody is having problems with them.