SVX Shop Search
IRC users:

Go Back   The Subaru SVX World Network > SVX Main Forums > Technical Q & A
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 04-15-2006, 10:04 PM

Registered SVX
Overheating problem, help please...

Hi eveyone,
I’m a newbie here but have had 94 SVX for several years, been lurking in this forum. I need a help to diagnose overheating problem.
I’ve been hearing some large whining (sounds like metal to metal contact) coming near where the AC compressor is located and thought that was the compressor, since I know it is locked up and I have been waiting for the replacement comming in. Yesterday after driving about 30 minutes, I saw the temp gauge shooting to red line. I limped back to home which is a mile away, keep driving and stopping for cooling. Today I ran the engine idling; the temp needle got to 3 o’clock position in about 12 min, and kept rising ¾ way to red line in total of about 20min. At that point I shut-off the engine and heard coolant boiling after shut-off.

The fan was working and the radiator hoses near the radiator filler cap were hot, so I assume it is not the thermostat. My oil seems to be in normal color, has no bubble on the dip stick. The coolant in the overflow tank and near radiator cap seems to be clear. So at least no large head gasket leak?

My question is as following
1. Would the water pump break down and caused this rather fast overheating? People seem to think that water pump would just leak when it goes bad?
2. Is there any way that I could judge whether the head gasket is blown at home? I am mechanically O.K., have installed tranny cooler myself and have basic tools. If the problem is only the water pump, that can be repaired (anyway I don’t know of sure whether the previous owner did timing belt at 60K or not and its getting to 100k). But if head gasket is blown, I don’t think my wife will let me keep the car…