SVX Shop Search
IRC users:

Go Back   The Subaru SVX World Network > SVX Main Forums > Technical Q & A
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 03-23-2011, 04:47 PM
Headin' for the hills

Registered SVX
Confirm my problem is Alternator related

Hey folks. This problem just reared its head for the first time today. When the revs drop below 1500rpm some of my dash lights slowly illuminate. Once I get back above about 1.7K they fade out.

I've read many a thread about "Christmas Lights" without any real description of what that means. In my case only the "steering, battery, stop lamp, brake and ABS" lights illuminate. I suspect my alternator is on its way out, but I always check here before I go spending my hard earned dough. If indeed it's as I suspect I'll finally have run out of excuses for not picking up a Maniac and doing the infamous wiring upgrade.

Thanks for humoring my mechanical insecurity. Despite doing quite a bit of work on this car, I'm still a noob at each task I undertake.
'92 LS-L "Bandit" #362 formerly dark teal, repainted by prev owner
Mods: ECUTune 2v7f, Earthworm bushings, Pioneer DVD/Bluetooth phone, Infinity Reference all around, tint, 17" wheels, custom seat belt computer, velcro visor

Buying parts is like car payments. Someday she'll be all mine.
Old 03-23-2011, 04:56 PM
51 Club

Registered SVX
Re: Confirm my problem is Alternator related

You can check the output voltage easily if you have a multimeter. Positive to the connection under the round rubber cover on the top of the alternator and negative to the neg battery post. Should read around 14.5 volts. Most auto parts stores will do a free alternator test also.
Old 03-23-2011, 05:40 PM
Subaru Gold Contributor

Significant Technical Input Registered SVX

Quote:
Originally Posted by K_Dub View Post