Photo Post
How-To Documents
Message Archive
SVX Shop Search
IRC users:

Go Back   The Subaru SVX World Network > SVX Main Forums > Technical Q & A

Old 02-28-2009, 01:28 PM

Climate Control Problem - Help Please!

Hi, I'm new to the SVX but have always loved them.

I'm thinking of buying a UK car which looks pretty good apart from a problem with the climate control.

I was told the aircon needed a re-gas which is fine but when I went to view the car, every time I changed the temperature setting on the digital display, it kept moving back to 32 Deg C - anyone any ideas? Is this because the system is confused as it needs a re-gas or something more serious like an ecu?

Otherwise that car was great; 100k miles with a recent rebuilt gearbox. Is there anything else I should be checking out?

Any advice would be appreciated - SVX's are rare in the UK with only about 250 sold so I'm worried in case it all goes bang and lands me with a huge repair bill!

Cheers,

Chris
Old 02-28-2009, 05:43 PM
Subaru Silver Contributor

Registered SVX
Re: Climate Control Problem - Help Please!

It has to do with the climate control unit itself I believe, can't remember right now. But pretty common that this happens. Definitely not because of being out of a/c refridgerant. Try doing a search or wait for others with more precise answers.
Old 02-28-2009, 06:23 PM

Send a message via Yahoo to paddlesnz

This is a common problem on JDM models and other models that have the full climate control digital display.

The temperature display automatically goes up to 32C or down to 18C and the outside temperature display doesn't work. Often it will work as it should but the problem gradually gets worse.

According to the Japanese Owners Club, some have had success with replacing the micro-switches in the temperature button, others have replaced the complete front climate control panel.