The Subaru SVX World Network

The Subaru SVX World Network (https://www.subaru-svx.net/forum/index.php)
-   Technical Q & A (https://www.subaru-svx.net/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=5)
-   -   Milage Q. -or- How long liveth the SVX? (https://www.subaru-svx.net/forum/showthread.php?t=3389)

Mistangelique 03-29-2002 11:52 PM

Milage Q. -or- How long liveth the SVX?

OK guys. I'm new here, so cut me some slack, ok? ;)

Baaaasically... Someone smashed my prized '94 Plymouth Sundance Duster (3L V6 5SP Green w?grey interior.. oh wait. Wrong forum) and I'm getting an insurance check.

Problem is, I'm a commuter student, and have to find another great car-fast. So I found a '92 Subaru SVX for a great price, but there are 180K miles on it. It's got a touring package, and I'm sure it was very well taken care of. Can anyone here hazard a guess on to how much life this baby may have in her?

Thanks a bunch.

Chris 03-30-2002 06:34 AM

Well as for the engine, its "nearly" bullet proof. Almost all Subaru engines seem to last years and miles longer than the rest of the car. People from the future will be able to fire up our old internal combustion engines and not be able to figgure out what they were found in. The tranny is probably your only major worry. If There are some signs you can look for of definate abuse or signs of failure, but it doesnt mean much. When I have more time( I REALLY need to get to bed), if you are interested I will post some information to look for. I dont quite have 180K on mine yet, but it still runs like a raped ape with 160K miles on it. I am sure there are members here with over 200K on their motors.

Oh... and let me be the first to welcome you to our crazy group. I promise, we dont bite.... well most of us.. I am the exception!:D

Mistangelique 03-30-2002 05:13 PM

signs...

That'd be great. Thanks for the help...

DavieGravy 03-30-2002 10:02 PM

I've heard that SVX engines last an average of 250k. Are they really bullet proof?