The Subaru SVX World Network

The Subaru SVX World Network (https://www.subaru-svx.net/forum/index.php)
-   Not Exactly SVX (https://www.subaru-svx.net/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=27)
-   -   Subaru Outback - gas milage problem (https://www.subaru-svx.net/forum/showthread.php?t=35991)

zamorush 11-05-2006 02:32 PM

Subaru Outback - gas milage problem

I have been driving my Dad's outback for the past two years. The SVX is at home, not exaclty a "carry it all" vehicle.

Recently, i have noticed that the gas milage on the outback wend down dramatically. I would usually get about 23 City/26 Highway, now, it is 19 City/22 Highway. Also, some other sumptoms that i have noticed is rolling resistance when in neutral. I used to throw the car in neutral when going down Great Vine (LA area), and it would pick up speed from 65 - 85. Now it does the opposite, and slows down from 80 to 65.

There are several things that i have tried in order to fix this problem. First, i though that it might be my catalytic converter. However, after checking the back pressure, the theory failed. I changed oil in the tranny and engine. My dad rebuilt the whole tranny. Changed fuil, oil and air filters. Polished discs, and checked the front and rear differentials. Everything seems fine.

Things i have't done are, checked the TCU and ECU. Technically i can replace them, but it is too much money.

Can anyone help me with this problem? What could have changed to bring my gas milage down and bring some kind of weird rolling resistance?

thanks

nik

Manarius 11-05-2006 02:42 PM

Sticking Caliper or burnt out MC?

zamorush 11-05-2006 07:02 PM

Quote:

Manarius, I am not sure what is "burn out MC". About the caliper, my dad checked all of them, non rubs, sticks or anything like that.

nik

Manarius 11-05-2006 09:02 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by zamorush
Manarius, I am not sure what is "burn out MC". About the caliper, my dad checked all of them, non rubs, sticks or anything like that.

nik