The Subaru SVX World Network

The Subaru SVX World Network (https://www.subaru-svx.net/forum/index.php)
-   General SVX Babble (https://www.subaru-svx.net/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=2)
-   -   found a SVX (https://www.subaru-svx.net/forum/showthread.php?t=33061)

badbasser98 05-04-2006 06:08 PM

found a SVX

I have been told about a SVX at a salvage yard. From what I have been told, body and such is in good shape. Most likely has engine problems. Would this car be worth buying for a project? And what are some common issues to look for with either the engine or tranny. I am completely new to the SVX world, but have owned two Legacy's.

Any suggestions or advice would be greatly appreciated.
-BB98

SVX-FF 05-04-2006 06:17 PM

Welcome BB98
You have expensive taste in a project car. SVX parts are not that cheap and there is a limited aftermarket parts option.

I would get the vin and do a carfax report. Some SVX's have had nasty electrical, but very very few. Most 92's have a tranny problem that causes then to be but down. Rear wheel bearing are another little problem. You can use this information to help get the price down if you really want it. If there is a member in the area, see if they will go look at it with you.

At worst you will have a parts car. :D

Steve

badbasser98 05-04-2006 06:41 PM

Thanks for the guidance. I have wanted an SVX for some time, but gave up on it long ago becuase there aren't any around here. I have only ever seen one on the road, and it had Canadian plates. Just the look of the car amazed me. I had no clue what it was, but did see the SVX emblem. Then was shocked to find that it was a Subaru when I did some research online.

That being said. Are there any members that live in/near upstate NY?

thanks,
-BB98

immortal_suby 05-04-2006 07:05 PM

My dad is in upstate ny - rochester area with my other (his now) 92 ebony
Pearlywhites is in hilton with a pearl and black