The Subaru SVX World Network

The Subaru SVX World Network (https://www.subaru-svx.net/forum/index.php)
-   Body Modifications (https://www.subaru-svx.net/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=65)
-   -   Mounting Alcyone hood ornament (https://www.subaru-svx.net/forum/showthread.php?t=38868)

Subie59 05-07-2007 07:54 PM

Mounting Alcyone hood ornament

OK guys I just got my Alcyone hood ornament but my car has no holes in the hood remaining from the old emblem.... and no sign of where it once was. Any suggestions on how to install one of these from scratch. Looks like I'm going to have to drill three holes in my hood (not good). Two of the posts have pyramidal rubber washer type things, the third is just a steel post. What drill bit and do you just push the rubber washer type things through the steel hood or is there some trick to the whole thing...
I know it's probably simple but I'm new to this and not real handy when it comes to these things... Rather do it right than make cheese out of my hood...
Thanks

It's Just Eric 05-07-2007 10:25 PM

Well...not having seen the reverse side of the alcyone emblem, I can only offer some common sence advice stemming from my fabrication experiances.
First thing's first...find the center line of the hood. Get a tape measure, and go right across the front edge of the hood....thake the measurement, half it, and use that measurement to make a pencil mark on the center of the front edge of the hood. now you have something to work with. you'll have to do the same to the reverse side of the emblem. All measurements from this point should be from that mark. Its jsut a matter of masuring and plotting.

Or, you can do it the bodyshop way, and break the mounting studs off the back, eye it up (Doesnt matter if the emblem is upside down, or on the wrong car for that matter) and stick it on

The later of the two isnt reccomended

Hocrest 05-07-2007 10:32 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by It's Just Eric