The Subaru SVX World Network

The Subaru SVX World Network (https://www.subaru-svx.net/forum/index.php)
-   Technical Q & A (https://www.subaru-svx.net/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=5)
-   -   "While you're down there..." Suggestions? (https://www.subaru-svx.net/forum/showthread.php?t=45073)

Knightwulf 06-09-2008 06:23 PM

"While you're down there..." Suggestions?

So, I've decided to keep the '97 and try to get her into the condition I was told she was in when I bought her.

I am not a mechanic, by any stretch, but I have a friend who's going to be putting in the new tranny. He's going to be checking what he can whilst she's apart. I'm looking for minor upgrade suggestions and stuff for him to check for.

Minor upgrades:

Tranny cooler
Custom Dropping Resistor Mod from SVXFiles
Complete Brake Upgrade Package from SVXFiles (SS lines, Raceconcepts dimpled/slotted rotors & pads)
15 & 20 min mods from SVXFiles
Upgraded F & R swaybar bushings from SVXFiles

Other fixes:

0² Sensors
Replacing wheel bearings
Replacing the receiver/dryer
Replace tranny filter & pan gasket

The upgrades I'm referring to are more along the lines of improving on what's already there for greater reliability and longevity, rather than performance mods.

Anything else I should consider upgrading or having him check for?

All suggestions welcome and appreciated! Thanks!

TomsSVX 06-09-2008 06:32 PM

Replace the tranny filter and pan gasket. Use some good synthetic ATF like Mobil 1 or Amsoil. Sounds like a good plan... BTW there are 3 02 sensors BUT the 3rd one is different than the front 2.

Good luck!

Tom

Knightwulf 06-09-2008 06:44 PM

Thanks for the suggestions, Tom!

Knightwulf 06-12-2008 10:36 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by TomsSVX (Post 551304)
Replace the tranny filter and pan gasket. Use some good synthetic ATF like Mobil 1 or Amsoil. Sounds like a good plan... BTW there are 3 02 sensors BUT the 3rd one is different than the front 2.

Good luck!

Tom