The Subaru SVX World Network

The Subaru SVX World Network (https://www.subaru-svx.net/forum/index.php)
-   Technical Q & A (https://www.subaru-svx.net/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=5)
-   -   Cleaning the throttle body (https://www.subaru-svx.net/forum/showthread.php?t=2894)

WestCoastSVX 02-25-2002 03:30 PM

Cleaning the throttle body

OK, I'm not a mechanic and have never done mechanical type work on my cars (other than oil changes) until the SVX. I've just heard too many stories of shops mistreating our cars, aside from the fact that it is often a LOT of money for simple fixes and procedures. Thanks to this site, I've used a lot of those fixes and have learned a lot about taking care of my car.

So with that said, don't laugh to hard. :) I did a search and found several posts about "cleaning the throttle body" among the "Tune-Up" things to do. (I'll probably be asking about some of the others, but one thing at a time) So first, what and where is the throttle body? And then, what is the procedure?

Thanks guys!

Aredubjay 02-25-2002 04:03 PM

Re: Cleaning the throttle body

Quote:

Originally posted by MacGyver
OK, I'm not a mechanic and have never done mechanical type work on my cars (other than oil changes) until the SVX. I've just heard too many stories of shops mistreating our cars, aside from the fact that it is often a LOT of money for simple fixes and procedures. Thanks to this site, I've used a lot of those fixes and have learned a lot about taking care of my car.

So with that said, don't laugh to hard. :) I did a search and found several posts about "cleaning the throttle body" among the "Tune-Up" things to do. (I'll probably be asking about some of the others, but one thing at a time) So first, what and where is the throttle body? And then, what is the procedure?

Thanks guys!

Troy,