The Subaru SVX World Network

The Subaru SVX World Network (https://www.subaru-svx.net/forum/index.php)
-   Technical Q & A (https://www.subaru-svx.net/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=5)
-   -   Driver's window switch (https://www.subaru-svx.net/forum/showthread.php?t=15307)

Wocketman 12-30-2003 12:04 AM

Driver's window switch

Ok, SVX newbie here....needing some simple sage wisdom:
My driver's side window switch has ceased functioning and is very wiggly anyway. Has anyone pulled off a simple repair or is it time to buy a new main window switch assembly from a dealer (ouch$!). I'm bummed since it was working pretty much ok when I bought the car a couple months ago...but it felt like it was getting loose. Oh well!

Seraph 12-30-2003 12:39 AM

I did a howto clean that ages ago. I am not sure if it is still there. It's very easy to do and clean it first. Then get a replacement.

SubaSteevo 12-30-2003 11:08 AM

Cleaning it is probably not going to solve your problem, but I have fixed mine another way. The way the switch works is it pivots back and forth like a seesaw and on either side there is a peg that is pushed down. What happened to my switch was the clip that held the switch on one side of the seesaw snapped. To fix it I took a paper clip, heated it up, and then stuck it through the side of the switch to create a new pivot point. I posted a mini how-to somewhere, you could try searching my sn for "window switch fixed" or something like that. New switches will run you about $100 shipped from subaruparts.com depending on whether you want the one from a 92 with auto up/down or a later one with only auto down. My auto doesn't work at all, but I can live with that for $100.

ensteele 12-30-2003 11:45 AM

Steve

If you find the mini how to, let me know or send it to me. I will post it in the How-To locker. To email it to me - click on Earl below and that is my email address.

ensteele 12-30-2003 12:02 PM

I did the search and found it. Thanks :)